The church has a rich legacy, organized in 1926 as the Santa Rita Community Church to serve the Protestant population of the copper mining town of Santa Rita, New Mexico. The Kennecott Copper Corporation built the church building and the parsonage. From the beginning, the church was involved in meeting the many needs of all the people of the mining community, working hand in hand with the Catholic parish.
By the late 1950’s, the copper was more valuable than the many town buildings, so all were either moved or destroyed. The present church building and parsonage were moved to its current location in August 1965.
One remarkable man, Rev. Harold Eugene Johnson, served as pastor from the church’s beginning in 1929 until 1942 when he served in WW II. He served as Field Director of the American Red Cross. He returned from the war in 1947. At that time, he resumed the pastorate and served until his death in 1966.
The stained glass windows, crafted by the artist William Griffin, were added in 1960s and the 1990s. These beautiful windows are unique in that they are scenes from the southwest, which depict Biblical passages.
The building today retains much of its historical charm, and the congregation strives to continue the legacy of its past, which includes being a welcoming church which works to meet the needs of people.